Logo: Aussie Specialist

Vocational Education and Training (VET)

Vocational Education and Training programs are delivered by TAFE Institutes (Technical and Further Education) These centres are both public and private and offer award programs (Certificate I, II, III, IV ( 6 months – 1 year) diplomas and advanced diplomas (1–2 years)) and a pathway to Australian university programs.

The academic requirements to enrol in VET programs are:

  • Certificate III – Year 10
  • Certificate IV – Year 12
  • Diploma – Year 12
  • Advanced Diploma – Year 12

TAFE centres are generally quite flexible and positively value the work experience of the applicant. There are also places offered to mature aged students (25+ years).

English requirement

To study an academic program at TAFE you need to have a minimum English level of IELTS 5.5 or the equivalent.